Vance County:

The county is governed by a seven-member board, who appoint a
County Manager. The Chair of the Board of Commissioners is selected among the Commissioners each year. It is a member of the Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Government.

City of Henderson:

The city is operated under a council-manager form of Government.  The Mayor is an elected position as are the eight Council Members. The Mayor votes only in a tie vote of Council members. Each of the four wards is represented by one ward representative and one at-large representative.


Vance County is in State Senate District 4 and House of Representative District 32.


Vance is in Congressional Districts 1 & 4. The U.S. Senate is state-wide.